Something for the Holidays


When putting together a memorable gingerbread worthy of the high holidays (in one form or another), best to pack it full of flavorful spices exciting intrigue followed by a comforting warmth.  A great ally in this effort is a cup or so of Guinness Stout, effervescing the spices to unexpected heights while contributing a rich, mysterious,  toasty depth:Guinness

For today’s recipe, the Extra Stout variety was selected, an option Guinness classifies as being, “bittersweet.”  Sounds almost chocolate-like, as befits the deep, mesmerizing tastes playing in the shadows.  This cake recipe is a Christmas specialty of New York’s Gramercy Tavern and the legendary Gourmet printed instructions in its October 2002 issue.

Elsewhere in Gotham, the Times published directions for a lustrous, satiny Ermine Icing in its Cooking section, as well as online.  The frosting is light and fluffy like whipped cream, yet it has the substance and sophistication of vanilla buttercream icing.  As such, it’s a splendid compliment to the gingerbread’s spiced extravagance.

The original Gramercy version is baked in a bundt pan and features no topping, save a dusting of powdered sugar.  That’s nice, and quite emphasizes the cupboard-full of spices involved, yet it still seeks a certain balance.  Fortunately, ermine icing is available to smooth the edges and to wrap the cake’s expression beautifully in a blanket of silken creaminess.

The flavors owe their infinite sophistication to the stout, which sets the melody to an almost-chocolatey tune.   Not just any stout will do, though.  This recipe requires Guinness Extra Stout.  That “extra” is just what his cake needs to make it a memorable part of December festivities.

*****

Guinness Ginger Cake

  • seeds from 6 cardamom pods (*1)
  • 1 one-and-a-half inch cinnamon stick
  • 3 whole peppercorns
  • 1 whole clove
  • 1 cup stout beer, such as Guinness (*2)
  • 1 cup molasses
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons ground ginger
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly-ground nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Spritz a 9 inch-square baking pan with cooking spray.

Place the cardamom seeds, cinnamon stick, peppercorns and clove in a small skillet and place over a medium flame.  Cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about a minute.  Transfer to a spice grinder and process until finely powdered.

Pour the stout and the molasses into a large saucepan and place it over a high flame.  Bring to a boil, then remove from the flame.  Stir in the baking soda – the mixture will bubble vigorously at first. Set aside to cool.

In a medium bowl whisk together the eggs, and sugars, brown and white.  Whisk in the oil and the stout mixture.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, nutmeg, ground ginger, salt and the toasted spices you processed.  Add the liquid contents from the medium bowl in two batches, whisking until combined.  Next, whisk in the freshly-grated ginger.

Pour the batter into the baking pan you prepared, then bake for 45 minutes.  Let cool on a wire rack for an hour, then frost with the Ermine Icing, recipe below.  Dust with powdered ginger if desired.

NOTES:

1 – This equals about half a tablespoon.

2 – You read the sermon.  Standard stout will do the job, but the “Extra” variety lends a chocolate-like depth to the season.

****

Ermine Icing

  • 5 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar

Place a small saucepan over a medium flame and pour in the milk and the flour.  Heat to a simmer, stirring frequently, until the mixture thicken almost to a pudding-like consistency.

Turn off the flame and whisk in the vanilla and salt.  Pour into a bowl to cool completely, and place plastic wrap on the surface to prevent a skin from forming.

In a mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy, about five minutes.  Reduce speed to medium and, with the mixer running, gradually pour in the flour-milk mixture.  Once combined, increase the mixer speed to high and whip until the icing is light and fluffy like whipped cream.

37 thoughts on “Something for the Holidays

  1. Yes, this delicious cake will be memorable. I’m going to be craving it all day. The picture, alone, is worth a thousand words, but your description shot the final arrow thru me, and now I need a piece of this Gingerbread delight!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Your anticipation is most flattering, Tamara. Thanks!

      This really is gingerbread, triply enhanced. The flavor is deeper and more playful than what we’d find in a cookie, and the texture and moistness amplify the magic. Finally, the Guinness vaults this past “10.”

      And just wait until you try it adorned with Ermine Frosting’s silky creaminess!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It looks amazing!!! I would never have the patience to make it but I can imagine it’s delectable. You’d like my sisters chocolate cake/icecream liquid recipe (half is baked, half stays liquid). I’ll have to try and remember to ask her for it. And maybe make it and take pictures of it for you. I’ll try……. (if I remember…. which, at the moment….)

    Love, light and glitter

    Liked by 2 people

    1. From your description, your sister’s creation sounds pretty darn spectacular, Eliza! That you’d contemplate recreating such an effort is most flattering. Thank you!

      Just one thing – I’m totally cool with you cooking and snapping a picture, and would be delighted with the company. Just don’t expect me to return the favor and post my attempts at scrapbooking.

      Major humiliation. I can tell you that right now. In fact, um…no hablo ingles. Would you believe that?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. 🙂 It’ll have to be on Thursday or next week. I’m kinda looking forward to it! I just have to see if can manage without an oven with the right settings… (our primary oven is broken)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. so, this is VERY ME.. but I JUST recently discovered I ADORE cardamom. After eating it in many recipes for, surely, decades LOL I decided I was going to stock up on spices, went to whole food to get some they sale in bulk, smell the cardamom and wnet… OMG THIS IS SO GOOD! oh… I’m so clueless sometimes. So when I saw it as the first ingredient I was OH I WOULD LOVE THIS. haha. I guess you can say for someone with a Dory memory, every day is a first day 🙂 “keep swimming”
    I want to get a spice grinder so badly and a mortar. I wonder if they would achieve the same result because I like the mortar better. I love when spices are warmed up first to release their flavor 🙂 and then molasses. These wonderful spices are fated for molasses. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, I agree, Daniela! As you probably know, the secret is to toast the seeds in a pan before grinding/pulverizing them.

      A spice (i.e., coffee) grinder does a quicker job and is much less work, but there is such a thing a grinding things too finely. For example, you may recall the Cambodian Pepper Curry that appeared a few weeks ago. Some texture was desirable, meaning I ground the peppercorns in my molcajete.

      Wait, a Mexican mortar and pestle for a Cambodian dish? Hey, you have to use the best tool for the job!

      I share your affinity for cardamom, Daniela. First started using it in Persian/Near Eastern cuisine, but the spice seduced me, and pretty soon I was looking for recipes with cardamom!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Kate! There’s just something about ginger, isn’t there? So complex, so sophisticated, it plays well with all manner of spices.

      Most definitely for more mature tastes, those which have moved beyond the blunt-force cloying sweetness Childhood demands.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’ve been a big fan of ginger in any form for many years … pics of their glorious flowers, in my dinner every night, glazed ginger, just any way it comes … I lOVE ginger ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hear that sound? It’s me Xeroxing your thoughts, Kate.

        When I a child, car sickness was a recurring struggle, until ginger saved the day more times than I can remember. Peppermint worked too, to some degree, though it couldn’t keep up with ginger’s miraculous properties.

        Such is my allegiance, I even grew ginger last summer! Granted, the effort was doomed, ultimately, as I’m nearer to glaciers than I am to palm trees,, but the plant did yield some usable roots before it lost its struggle with Frost.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It is a cure all, fortunately I’ve never had troubles travelling. My Mum used to say you could lock me in the boot and I’d still be happy because I was going somewhere 🙂

        lol I’ve been growing a ginger plant for months now only to realise it’s ornamental … gave it to a neighbour! WIll try again if our drought ever breaks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. At least the plant found a good home. No doubt, your lucky neighbor appreciates all the effort you dedicated.

        Mine started almost by accident. I bought too much ginger, and the unused portion began to mold. Rather than pitch it, I asked, “Why not?”

        Into a pot it went, and a couple weeks later, a sprout rewarded my faith. The thing kept growing all summer, and it yielded only in late October, when frost became unmistakable.

        Still, it produced several usable roots. Though not nearly as picturesque as what we bring in from places like Jamaica and Hawaii, the ginger still tasted good. I only can imagine how vigorously it would’ve grown somewhere enjoying year-round tropical warmth.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It does, Summer, it does!

      In this case, I used green cardamom. Looking back on last weekend with all the wisdom three days have supplied (ha!), I question whether it really was necessary to make the pods disgorge their seeds. After all, whole pods are entirely edible, and other preparations have used them thusly. After all, everything’s ground to a powder anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Again, your consideration overwhelms, Summer. Much appreciated!

        You know how these parties go, in that’s we definitely have a two way street going on here. Most people bring in things, either purchased from a bakery, or homemade

        Like

    1. Much obliged, Mia – you too!

      I expect your holidays were equally enriching, as you’re continuing to post thoughtful prose inspiring sparkling conversation! Liked your latest Tiny Tale, and I’m looking forward to the next installment in 2020!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great. As expected…and desired.

        Of course, I await the payoff, learning your poetry and prose is but an appetizer for the real purpose, exploring 1,001 Interesting and Little Known Facts about Harmonicas.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment